Skip to content

APRIL 2014

April 14, 2014

I’ve been preparing to give a talk on Bone Marrow Transplants and in the process, I’ve been reading my blogs. Such a dichotomy in that some of the experiences took place so long ago, yet when I read them, I feel like I’m transported in time. One of those Twilight Zone moments or is it the Outer Limits? Anyway, its been fun putting together this presentation and I hope that you’ll all be able to come. It will be nice to see everyone. It is going to be at the Dominican Hospital Katz Cancer Center fireside chat series, Monday, 4/28 from 11:30 to 12:30 (3150 Mission Dr. next to Dominican Hospital)
In general, I feel good and I believe my health status is stable. Since I stopped the Tacrolimus, I have developed a mild skin rash, probably GVHD but if this is the worse thing I have, I’ll take it and run!

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Chip Goldeen permalink

    Jim,

    Sorry to miss seeing you
    , but I will be out of town on the 28th. Good luck I know you will give a great talk.

    Chip

  2. Alexis permalink

    Wish I could come but I’m on the other side of the country . I’m sure you will do great !

  3. Lee May permalink

    Glad to hear you are doing so well. I’m closing in on a two-year birthday for an autologous stem cell transplant. My SCT at UCSF was for Multiple Myeloma. Although my CR is most probably not permanent, at least the recovery is not as tough as from the allo procedure. If you want to start a support group, I might suggest you include auto patients. Although STCs are not that common, the majority are auto procedures. Good luck with your efforts.

  4. Lee Thoma permalink

    Congratulations on your upcoming presentation. I hope it’s a unqualified success! And nice article in the Daily Disappointment. Who was that handsome stud with the flute? All the best….Lee Thoma

  5. John and Patricia Densem permalink

    Congratulations on your recovery! Lots has happened to Patricia and me since we last saw you when you closed your solo practice. Will try to be in touch. Keep the faith!

  6. Betsy Walsh permalink

    I can come to your talk on the 28th. Not sure about Tim but he sends you his best. Betsy

  7. Bobi Robinson permalink

    Hi Jim,
    Saw the article in the Sentinel this AM. Just wanted to let you know how happy I am to see that you are doing so well. I miss you as my doctor.
    Have a great Passover. Maybe I’ll see you at the temple.
    Bobi Robinson

  8. Clarke (Ted) Parsons permalink

    Hi Jim, I hve certainly enjoyed reading all of your blogs during your procedures. Still have them all in my computer. Still think that you should write a book. The sentinental article on you was excellent. Gave to a couple of your former patients that don”t take the paper. Miss seeing you.

    Clarke Parsons

  9. George Schneer permalink

    I have been following your blog – miss you,

    George

  10. Roy permalink

    glad to hear you are on the mend
    will miss this talk

  11. Brent permalink

    Hi Jim, Unfortunately, Viki and I will be visiting with our kids and grandkids in Sonoma from the 25th through the 29th and won’t be able to attend your session. Through your posts and blogs I have followed your BMT travels and experience with huge interest, concern, sympathy, and amazement. It is incredible that you can provide so much medical knowledge and now, first hand been-there-done-that personal experience. You are terrific !! Wish I could be there. Best regards to you and your family. Brent

Leave a Reply

