Skip to content

FEBRUARY 2014

February 8, 2014

Many of my friends and family have commented on healthy I look, the paleness in my face is gone.  My standard response is that “blood is good” but I must say I still don’t feel like the sharpest tool in the shed.  My mental acuity, dexterity, and memory have something to be desired.  Is that from the transplant or getting older?  Probably both but none the less, I’m appreciative of how far I’ve come and where I am now.  As time goes on, the whole transplant experience and preceding illness has faded.  But taking medications twice a day is a constant reminder of what I went through and there has been a visceral change in what is important in life, my values, and my spirituality.

January was action packed.  Sam, Meg, and our new grand-daughter, Arielle, came to visit for 2 weeks.  It was like the old days when activity bustled and kids where all through the house.  The dishwasher was running every evening.  It was wonderful.

I got asked to play the flute in the pit orchestra for a production of Sweeney Todd that began last Thursday at Lauden Nelson in Santa Cruz.  It’s by AAT and the talent is very good.  I’ve never done anything like this before, a new experience.  Sondheim wrote it with time signatures and keys all over the place.  Definitely one of the most challenging works I’ve ever done but what a blast.  I’m also preparing for a talk on” Stem Cell Transplant” that I’m going to give on April 28th at the Dominican Katz Center.  It’s free and open to the public.  I hope many of you can come.

It’s a nice rainy day in Santa Cruz, at last.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. God’s in His heaven—
    All’s right with the world!
    – Robert Browning

  2. Sarah Felstiner permalink

    Hey Jim!
    I’ve played that Sweeney Todd part – great show, and some tricky flute stuff. Wish I could come see it. Enjoy, and huge hugs to you and your fam. Hope to see you this summer.
    xo,
    Sarah F.

  3. Alexis permalink

    It sounds like you are doing extremely well uncle jimmy 🙂

    Gaggy told me that you and Claire were gushing over her during their visit. I’ve seen the pictures of her- she is so adorable

  4. Jimmie Wood permalink

    The more ya play that flute, the more color in that handsome mug!

    XO

    J.W. & L.E.

  5. Bob Smith permalink

    The memory loss and slowing down are examples of old age, but it sounds like you beat that, too.
    Anyway, it’s good to hear from you again,

  6. jomobri1231@comcast.net permalink

    Hi, Jim. It really is nice to get these updates because we don’t get to always discuss your illness/recovery when we meet. Sam looked so happy and all grown up. It was fantastic to see him and meet Meg and Arielle. Charlie says I’m overripe to be a grandma and going all out to hold any babies that come by way! But, Arielle was soooo pretty! p.s. I have a favor to ask Claire, but don’t have her e mail address. Please forward.

    Hi, Claire. I have a favor to ask you but please feel free to say no. Would you have time to arrange Monica’s flowers? We will of course pay for the flowers and come pick it up the day before?

Leave a Reply

