Skip to content

Day 45 of being home

December 15, 2012

The intensity of my life has slowed down but the pace is quickening because I’m feeling good and have the energy to do more things.  I guess that means my life is normalizing?  Yet my doctors keep reminding me that I’m still in the younger stage of the post-transplant world and I need to be careful and take it easy.  I must admit that I’m not as compliant with protecting myself as I should be and often I just don’t do the right thing.  I need to remember that I’m not invincible.  Patience has always been something that I’ve tried to cultivate and enhance but maybe the real lesson is just to make peace with it and who I am.  Last Wednesday I went to see my Stanford transplant doctor and there was no change in my blood counts.  My absolute neutrophil count was 1.04 and below 1 is when I get a Neupogen shot so I just dodged that bullet.  She said that this is good and that maybe they’ll start decreasing my medications in early 2013.  It all sounds encouraging.   The one thing that still brings up a startling reaction is when I hear people cough.  I immediately turn the other direction and head for the hills.

This is the season that I usually reflect upon the year.  One of the highlights this year was and is all the support and caring that I’ve received from everyone.   Each of your blog responses, phone calls, and visits has meant a lot to me.  I hope you have a wonderful holiday season full of health and happiness.

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Barbara Johnson permalink

    Leon and I went to see “A Night at the Nutcracker” tonight at Cabrillo. Your name was listed in the program. We loved the performance — very funny. Wish you could go, but the crowds. . .better to be safe. My friends and I(Marty Martin, Kathy Bamford and Dianne Bollentini, among others) often talk about your progress and hope for your speedy and complete recovery. Best, Barbara Johnson

  2. Alexis permalink

    You sound like you are doing great on the road to revovery .

    Happy holidays and season’s greetings

  3. Alexis permalink

    I’m sure next year will be an awesome year for you

  4. Ron and Merrilyn Marker permalink

    We are so pleased to read your blog and see that you are feeling stronger and healthier with each passing day. Keep it up!!! Ron and Merrilyn Marker

  5. john filice permalink

    Jim: So happy that you continue to recover. Hope you and all your family have a great Holiday season.
    John and Marsha Filice

  6. Chip Goldeen permalink

    Jim,

    Glad you are home. Looks like the Giants resigned the three guys they needed to, we should have all our key players returning for another run next year. Stay strong.

    Chip

  7. Larry Levin permalink

    Jim, We have been thinking of you. Happy Hanukah! Thank you for the update.
    Larry and Diane Levin

  8. Linda Bobbitt permalink

    Your words are always so incouraging. You are one strong man. Not to many people can go through what you did and have such a positive aditude. So glad to hear you are doing better. The new year will be a new beging for you. But you have to be careful and take care of yourself. Happy Hanukah to you and a Very Merry Christmas and if we don’t hear from you until next year have a Happy New Year. Dennis and Linda Bobbitt

  9. Hey Jim and family — here’s wishing you a neutrophilled holiday and many more to come. I think of you every day and look forward to seeing you at CMW this year. Felt empty without you last year. Warmest wishes for a lovely holiday season and a superb 2013. Nina & family

  10. Hey,Doc, I just found out you have a blog from the receptionist at Aptos PAMF. What an ordeal you’ve been through. It’s so good to hear you are doing well now. I’m looking forward to my next bi-annual when you get back. I went through two surgeries this summer, myself, and I’ll have to fill you in about them when you get back to your office. In the mean time, take care and enjoy the final days of your recovery.

  11. Evelyn Skipper permalink

    Dear Dr. Engelman, HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY!I pray that 2013 will be a year of all goodthings for you and your family- and-especially full recovery for you. We miss you!Happy new year!Love, Evelyn

    Date: Sat, 15 Dec 2012 06:20:46 +0000 To: rdmskipper@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

