Skip to content

DAY 56

August 31, 2012

A little more than 1 week ago, thursday the 23rd, I received a shot of Neupogen for my low WBC.  Last Monday when we checked my blood, the WBC had gone up but the platelets had decreased.  Yesterday, my WBC dropped back to 1.9 but my platelets increased to 60,000 so they gave me another shot of Neupogen.  All through this my red blood cells have been steadily inching up, Hbg was 11.8 yesterday.  So being a bit curious I asked my doctor “what is going on with the WBC moving one direction, the platelets another, and the Hbg being fairly consistent”.  She looked me in the eye and said “I don’t know”.

Now some of you might find this a bit unsettling but having been a doctor for 27 years, I know there is more we don’t know than we do know.  Not only are we making new medical breakthroughs and discoveries daily, but medical truths that were once written in stone have come tumbling down and occasionally totally reversed or thrown out.  I won’t say I was happy with her response and I would have preferred an explanation that had an easy medical fix but that’s life.  What’s life?  Well we don’t always get what we want and we have to be patient.  Patience has never been one of my virtues.  Maybe this is a lesson?  If so why couldn’t I have been given an experience like waiting for the bus at the bus stop.  A BMT is kind of over the top but maybe I needed something a bit more substantial to counter my stubbornness.

So I have expanded my approach to my current situation, a very real growing experience for me.  I believe I have augmented my success for this transplant by adding my personal involvement using positive thinking, meditation, and praying as well as doing everything medically that can be done.  I know this is out of my control but I’m trying to be as proactive as possible.  One plus is that I feel pretty good.

One addendum to day 52, protein units should be grams/kg of weight not mg.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Alexis permalink

    Keep staying active and upbeat. I’m positive everything will turn out fine

  2. Nina Haedrich permalink

    “What’s Life?” I think it’s another “don’t know” if we’re at all honest (: And Jim, about “this” being out of your control, I wonder if anyone has more control than you? Know we’re all at your back with boosters on. Many more warm hugs with loving energy and peace in not knowing. Nina

  3. ann and patrick ryan permalink

    Jim, Pat and I have been following and adding our thoughts for recovery and your return to the fold. My nonexistent computer skills took a while to post a comment. We know that you too will join the ranks of survivors. Ann and Pat Ryan

  4. Linda Bobbitt permalink

    Hi Jim, It’s so good to here from you. You do have a positive aditude and alot of patience going through what your going through. None of us know what is in store for us only one person does and he never gives us anymore than we can handle. I guess it’s the unknown that makes us wonder so much. You have such a great atitude and that will get you through this time in your life. We can’t wait for you to get back at least to Santa Cruz and in your own home. Just remember Believe and Trust and you will get well much faster. We miss you and are praying for you. Linda and Dennis

  5. Jim Melendy permalink

    Your doctor’s “I don’t know” response reminds me of the response we often hear from Greg’s doctor: “If I could tell you that, I would be booking a flight to Sweden to receive my Nobel prize.”

Leave a Reply

