Skip to content

DAY +20

July 26, 2012

One small step for mankind but one HUGE step for me.  My WBC is 1.5 today with an Absolute Neutrophil Count (ANC) of 500.  WBC is a generic term for a type of cell that is involved with protecting us.  To be able to leave the room, I need an ANC of 500 which includes mostly neutrophils and monocytes.  I still need to wear a mask when I’m outside my room.  Returning to being healthy is a long road and will take some luck and some perseverance.  Hopefully I won’t  develop any significant Graft vs Host Disease (GVHD).  In my camp is that the donor, John my brother, was a perfect match so that should temper the severity of GVHD if I should succumb.  I think it’s safe to say that the darkest times are behind me but I don’t want to say it to loud in fear of bringing the attention of the evil eye upon myself.

It was nice walking around and having a different view for a while.  I mean how long can I look at the clock in my room.  I did my first lap at a tortoise pace.  Who would ever think that would tire me out.

Jim

From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. Congratulations Doc! That’s really terrific news. It’s great that you’re able to get out of your room, but also that you’re making so much progress. Keep up the good work.

    Mark

  2. Chip Goldeen permalink

    Congratulations! That’s great news. Poor Lincecum got “lit-up” yesterday and the Giants lost. They are off today and back in SF tomorrow night against the Dodgers. Since they are playing the Dodgers you might be able to see it on TV down there. Keep giving us those good progress reports.

  3. Steve Robbins permalink

    Good job Dr. Engelman. Sounds optimistic that your body is responding well so far. You are in my thoughts and prayers for a full recovery.

  4. George Schneer permalink

    Fantastic!!!

  5. Ann S. permalink

    Bet you never thought hospital halls could look so good! Congrats & keep going. Ann.

  6. susan garfield permalink

    Yay

  7. Alexis permalink

    That is so awesome! You are doing fantastic- keep it up

  8. Robin permalink

    Yay!!

    Brought tears to my eyes…Wonderful News!!

    xoxo

  9. Randy Danto permalink

    Sounds like you are doing really well! So glad to hear that things are improving! You’ll be running laps pretty soon!

  10. Lorna permalink

    This is wonderful news! I am so happy for you! Lorna

  11. Esther Levandoski permalink

    Congratulations Jimmy! That is wonderful.

  12. Dante brown permalink

    Doing laps?!? Just in time for the Olympics!! Congrats…mike and Dante

  13. Charlie Young permalink

    That’s great news and congratulations. It seems only yesterday we were waiting with you for that up tic in the WBC. Looking forward to all the progress ahead and to seeing you when you are out and about. Charlie.

  14. john filice permalink

    Jim: Keep it up. You are an inspiration. Can you get back to your music, play in the room?

    Maersha and John

  15. Jim, that is awesome! Enjoying the evening sun on the mountains out the big lobby windows is the best. Fellow patient Brian

  16. Brad Franks permalink

    Best news yet Jim! I am following all this closely, knowing it will be fine, just like my neck!

  17. Larry Levin permalink

    Jim: Diane and I are glad to hear that you are progressing as hoped. One has to be very strong to do what you are doing. You are an inspiration. Keep it up. We look forward to getting more progress reports.

  18. Congratulations Jim you are one FANTASTIC man. Glad to hear things are starting to get back to normal well with in reason. Just keep up your wonderful spirit and it will be over before you know it. We miss you and are praying everyday for you. All our Love Dennis and Linda

Leave a Reply

