Skip to content

here again

June 28, 2012

I’m writing from the out patient unit at COH, lying in bed, getting my second day of Fludarabine.  Today, things are going much smoother.  I’ll be out by 11AM and then I can go out and play.  Today we’re going to the Getty Villa in Malibu and then dinner with our old neighbors when Claire and I lived on Selby Ave. in LA 25 years ago.  I’m feeling OK, the unit of blood I got yesterday was a nice shot in the arm.

As many of you know, I went to medical school at USC in LA and Claire and I lived on the westside.  The medical school is located across from the county hospital east of downtown right off the Soto exit from the freeway, Hwy 10.  The old general hospital is about 19 stories and is the prominent building in the area.  So, for many years I drove  the stop and go freeways for about an hour each way, usually leaving my house at about 7:30 to 8AM.  That is all background for the punch line.  This morning at about 8AM we’re driving and it was like deja vu, very strange.  We’re driving and I felt like it was 1980 and I’m back in school and I almost got off at Soto, like a reflex.

Maybe adding to that was a dinner reunion that Claire and I went to last night.  In LA we belonged to a “gourmet club”.  A bunch of us friends would get together every couple months and eat, drink, and be marry.  Most everybody was there.  Some people that we haven’t seen since leaving LA 22 years ago.  We had a blast!!!  It was like going back in time.  It felt so natural.

One other thing, Claire wants to be known as Dolly Madison not Eleanor Roosevelt because Dolly was a quilter

Jim

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Glad to hear there is some UP times in all of this…hope you have lots more. Thinking and praying for you everyday…Kris and Bob

  2. Alexis permalink

    Glad to hear that you are doing so well and having fun during your down time. Miss you lots- alexis

  3. susan garfield permalink

    Eleanor Roosevelt was not a good choice. Dolly Madison makes good pastries too.

  4. Liana Fielder permalink

    Just to let you and Claire know I’m thinking positive thoughts for the both of you, and lots of prayers.
    And oh yeah I pull weeds for free! Let me know if there is anything I can do for either one of you,please. Lots of love Liana

  5. Glad you are able to have a little fun. We have been thinking about you everyday and we miss you and can’t wait for you to get all better. All of our Prayers and love go to you every day. We miss you Lots 🙂 🙂 Dennis and Linda

Leave a Reply

