Skip to content

out a month

June 9, 2012

Hi,

Limbo is over, let the show begin.  I had my follow up CT scan of the lung lesion and it looks better.  It has turned into a scar and no longer looks ominous.  Yea!!  I got the release to proceed.  I head down to City of Hope (COH) Tuesday for pre procedure testing including another bone marrow biopsy and then I’ll come back to Soquel for a couple days while they process everything and get the insurance clearance.  If all goes well and there are no surprises, Claire and I will head to COH 6/24 to start the chemotherapy conditioning in preparation of the transplant in early July.  The plan is to stay in the hospital for about a month while my brother’s stem cells set up shop and start producing blood.  My immune system will be compromised so I don’t reject the transplant but that also makes me more susceptible to disease etc…  After a month or so if everything goes to plan (I hate if) I move to one of their cottages on site for about 2 to 3 months.   Then back ohme to recuperate.  I’m not sure how long that will be but I’d like to get back to part time work as soon as possible.

I guess I’m a bit apprehensive about the future.  Being a doctor gives me a little sneak preview into all the possible problems that can arise but at least I heave realistic expectations.  It’ll be an experience to tell the kids.

Jim

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. David Berkey permalink

    Understandable you would be apprehensive, especially with “too much knowledge”! I admire your courage and committment!

  2. Brent permalink

    Finally !! No more waiting around to wait around. Jim, I know you will be just fine – – – that’s why I picked you for my doctor.

  3. Bob and Kris Bloom permalink

    Dr. E….Many wishes and lots of prayers for you on your journey. Hope that it’s full of fast healing, great acceptance of your new cells, and hope it all takes less time than expected. Thank you so much for letting us share this journey with you. Miss you…Heal FAST and WELL…Kris and Bob Bloom

  4. susan garfield permalink

    Ungourmet Club is having a canned food drive just for you. We miss you. Buzzy, Peter, Jimmie, Laura, Sarah, Bob, Susan and Andy.

  5. Linda Bobbitt permalink

    So glad to hear from you. ”BELIEVE” this is a powerful word James. Can’t wait for you to get back all healthy and strong, so just take your time and do what the doctors tell you. hahaha That’s a good one a doctor listening to a doctor. All our love and prayers are with you. Miss you sooooo much. Dennis and Linda

  6. Mark Lewis permalink

    We’re glad to hear the obstacles are out of the way for you to get started. We wish you the best of luck for a very successful treatment!

    Mark, Kathy and Nicki

  7. Betsy Walsh permalink

    Best wishes to you and Claire. We will be sending good vibes from Santa Cruz! We will be in LA this week, actually in Agoura, for my granddaughter’s high school graduation on Thursday evening. She is going to Stanford in the Fall. Let us know if there is anything we can do. Betsy and Tim

Leave a Reply

